34 Weeks…

Time seems to be flying by now. I know that will soon stop so I’m trying to make the most of it as everyone says the last couple of weeks really drag.

I’m 34 weeks and 1 day as of today. It’s quite amazing how fast time has passed. Sometimes it feels like I have been pregnant forever (I knew immediately remember), but then at other times it feels like it’s not been anywhere near long enough to actually be thinking about giving birth in 6 weeks!

My preggie twin that I met on a pregnancy forum gave birth yesterday to a little boy. We found out we were pregnant the same day, were due the same day and have become good friends over the last few months. We have never met but have a good friendship via internet and text, which has been nice. We seemed to have had the same aches and pains on a daily basis which was always, in a way, quite comforting. She ended up with HELLP Syndrome though and OC (Obstetric Cholestasis) which can be life threatening to mother and baby so she had to be delivered early. She gave birth at 12.31am this morning to a very healthy baby boy weighing 6lb 5oz! I wonder how much he would have weighed had he gone another 6 weeks! Well done Gem! I’m proud of you!

My SPD has been really terrible. I can barely walk more than 5 to 10 minutes without having to stop which is very frustrating. I don’t go out much at all as it seems pointless when it’s limited to no more than a couple of shops at a time. Even sitting down hurts and causes a lot of pain. I have weekly physio sessions but to be honest, they seem to be pointless. I’m only really going incase it gets so bad that I need serious help toward the end. I have a very attractive full body tubigrip to wear but even that doesn’t really do very much at all I’m sad to say.

I know it is all going to be worth it in the end when I’m holding our baby though. I can’t wait.

Everything is more or less done now. We are still waiting for our nursery furniture though which is annoying me. We were told 6 to 8 weeks and it’s now 7 and we hadn’t heard from them. I called yesterday and they said we will receive a call this week and the installation date will be week commencing 11th February. The problem is that until the furniture is in, I can’t put any of Flump’s clothes away. They’re all washed and need to be ironed but that’s pointless until I have somewhere to put them.

I did start getting my labour bag ready yesterday. Most of my stuff is packed, I just need to sort out Flump’s now. I need to iron a few little things and then pack them and the other essentials. It’s all becoming quite real. πŸ™‚

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Nicky said,

    You’re IRONING baby clothes???? :-O

    What’s HELLP syndrome? Sounds nasty. As does your SPD. Hope it gets better, or Flump arrives early, or something to relieve it.

  2. 2

    Mummy-To-Be said,

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HELLP_syndrome

    Not very nice at all and life threatening too.

  3. 3

    Mummy-To-Be said,

    And of course I’m ironing baby clothes. πŸ™‚ Can’t have Flump dressed in crumpled outfits now, can we! πŸ˜€

  4. 4

    Nicky said,

    Only understood about half of the Wiki thing (thanks – I’m too lazy to look stuff up for myself), but sounds horrendous. Hope your friend’s ok now.

    As for the ironing… if I was a betting person I’d open a sweepstake on how long that’ll last! Though you’d probably prove me wrong and carry on doing it… can I send you my ironing???!

  5. 5

    Mummy-To-Be said,

    LOL, let me think about it….

    Ok, thought about it.. no, sorry! πŸ˜€ hehe

  6. 6

    Nanna said,

    Great to hear from you again! I’ve been wondering how you were as I’ve been following your progress and enjoying reading your blog. I’m sorry to hear that nasty SPD is still causing you so much pain. Not long now though until you have little Flump in your arms for real!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment